Skip to content

The rise of the thigh high boot

July 12, 2009

Every influential fashion collection for Autumn/Winter 2009 had models up and down the globe sashaying down the runway in a pair of thigh high boots.

From Prada to Gucci to Stella McCartney but the collection that stood out the most to me was Isabel Marant; producing a collection that portrayed the easy of relaxed Parisian fashion. It was the first look that convinced me that I’d love the whole damn collection, sending Erin Wasson down the run way in a grey slouchy t-shirt, silk python print harem pants tucked into black suede thigh high heeled boots and a fur coat….I think I squealed. That’s right, I squealed with excitement and it just got better and better. A collection that I would buy literally every look from.

Thigh high boots for Autumn/Winter 2009

Thigh high boots for Autumn/Winter 2009

To be honest I should have know I’d love the collection as it was styled by Vogue Paris’ Emmanuelle Alt, the woman who embodies relaxed Parisian style herself.

Now the big question is can I pull off thigh high boots myself? Never have I even owned a pair of thigh high boots and that’s simply because I never really aspired to look like a ‘slapper’ (plus I’m small, ehem, petite).

Not saying that donning a pair of thigh high boots automatically make you look like one but rarely are thigh high boots worn with any success – there are the ‘chosen few’ like Kate Moss who can manage to pull them off with out looking like she wanted to star in Pretty Woman but in my view point thigh highs always need to be dressed down otherwise your look ends up befitting the type of woman who sits on a stool outside a shop door down an ally off Old Compton Street.

But this season I will mostly be styling myself along the same lines as Isabel Marant’s Autumn/Winter 2009 collection. First purchase will be a pair of thigh high boots. Karen Millen and Topshop both have produced a pair of suede ones. And seeing as I point blank refuse to buy anything Karen Millen (long story), looks like I’ll be after the topshop ones, cheap and cheerful and as thigh highs don’t fall into my ‘fashion must haves’ there’s no need to seriously invest.

No comments yet

Leave a comment